You need to file a complaint if you want the MCHR to look into your situation or if you want to sue in court.

Press the button below to begin the assessment.

You have completed the first part of the Discrimination Complaint Assessment

Based on the answers you provided, it appears that your situation may be covered by the Missouri Human Rights Act. Click below for the appropriate Complaint Intake Questionnaire that asks more specific questions regarding your situation. Complete the Complaint Intake Questionaire and return it to:

MCHR
P.O. Box 1129
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1129

Or email it to mchr@labor.mo.gov and MCHR staff will assist you in filing a formal discrimination complaint. To speed up the process, call 573-751-3325 and speak with intake staff.

Complaint Intake Questionaire - Employment PDF Document

Complaint Intake Questionaire - Public Accommodations PDF Document

Complaint Intake Questionaire - Housing PDF Document

COMPLETING THE COMPLAINT INTAKE QUESTIONNAIRE IS NOT THE SAME AS FILING A FORMAL COMPLAINT.

Click here to see the process after a complaint has been filed.

You do not have a basis for filing a complaint with MCHR

The Missouri Human Rights Act gives you a limited amount of time to file a complaint of discrimination. The law says complaints must be filed within 180 days from the day alleged discrimination took place. The 180-day period starts the day you find out about the discriminatory decision (such as demotion or discharge) regardless of the effective date of the decision. If the adverse act in your case is beyond 180 days then the MCHR does not have jurisdiction to look in to this matter.

The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) enforces the federal laws prohibiting discrimination in employment. The EEOC has a 300-day complaint filing period. ( www.eeoc.gov.) The Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) enforces the federal Fair Housing law. HUD has a one (1) year filing period. (www.hud.gov.)

Please note that when a complaint is filed with MCHR, it will also be automatically filed with EEOC or HUD. And when a complaint is filed with the EEOC or HUD, that complaint will automatically be filed with MCHR if the respondent is in Missouri. You don’t have to file complaints with both agencies to be covered under both state and federal law. It’s one-stop shopping.

Question 1: Time Limits

How many days has it been since you found out about the discriminatory decision (such as demotion or discharge) regardless of the effective date of the decision.

You do not have a basis for filing a complaint with MCHR

MCHR only handles complaints of discrimination in housing, employment and places of public accommodations. If you believe you were discriminated against in some other area, then MCHR cannot assist you.

You should continue with the assessment, but NOTE...

Please note that when a complaint is filed with MCHR, it will also be automatically filed with Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) or Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), if appropriate. And when a complaint is filed with the EEOC or HUD, that complaint will automatically be filed with MCHR if the respondent is in Missouri. You don’t have to file complaints with both agencies to be covered under both state and federal law. It’s one-stop shopping.

Question 2: Area of Discrimination

What does the Discrimination involve?

(More on employment discrimination)
(More on discrimination in public accommodations)

You do not have a basis for filing a complaint with MCHR

MCHR only handles complaints related to certain kinds of discrimination . If you believe you were discriminated against for some reason other than your race, color, religion, national origin, ancestry, sex, disability, age or familial status or retaliation, then MCHR cannot assist you. However there may be another government agency which can assist you. Please clink on a link below for more information.

U.S. Department of Labor, Employment Standards Administration-Wage and Hour Division

Administers and enforces the Fair Labor Standards Act, Family Medical leave Act and other pay-related laws with respect to private employment, state and local government employment and selected federal employees.

Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations Division of Workers’ Compensation

The Division provides services to those who have been injured on the job or exposed to occupational disease arising out of and in the course of employment. The Division also makes sure that an injured worker receives benefits that he/she is entitled to under the Missouri Workers' Compensation Law.

Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations Division of Employment Security

The Division of Employment Security is responsible for the administration of the unemployment insurance benefit and tax program. The Division collects tax contributions from employers and pays unemployment benefits to individuals who are determined eligible under the law.

Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations Division of Labor Standards

The Division determines and enforces the Prevailing Wage, and administers and enforces Missouri’s Child Labor Law and Minimum Wage Law. The Division offers a free consultation service to employers to ensure they comply with federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) regulations and inspects mine and cave sites, trains miners in the practice of implementing safe and healthy working habits.

You should continue with the assessment, but NOTE...

MCHR only handles complaints of discrimination in housing, employment and places of public accommodations . If you believe you were discriminated against in some other area, then MCHR cannot assist you.

Age is not covered in housing or public accommodations.

Question 3: Type of Discrimination

Why do you believe you were discriminated against? Check all that apply.

(Explain national origin/ancestry/ethnicity)
(Explain race/color)
(Explain sex/gender/pregnancy)
(Explain religion)
(Explain age)
(Explain disability)
(Explain retaliation)

You do not have a basis for filing a complaint with MCHR

Under the Missouri Human Rights Act, covered employers must employ 6 or more employees to fall under MCHR’s jurisdiction. If you have any questions about your rights or how to count the number of employees, please e-mail us at mchr@labor.mo.gov

Question 4: Number of Employees in organization

How many employees does the organization have in the state of Missouri? Count all employees at all locations in Missouri.